#
se-ortho-team

View Testimonials

Patients Share Their Story

Below are Testimonials that were submitted by satisfied patients:

I was referred to DR Redmond through a former patient of his. I had pain in my left hip and lower back over five years which gradually became worse. When I first saw DR Redmond, I was walking with a cane and not sleeping well. DR Redmond reviewed the x-rays with me and explained the options, recommending that I consider a total hip replacement. He answered all of my questions and put me at ease.

The surgery went well and I was up walking the next day without pain. I used a walker for two days and then didn't need it anymore. I recovered at home. There was no formal rehab; I did daily exercises that were prescribed by the physical therapist at the hospital.

I am very happy with the result and now feel great. Three months after surgery I have no restrictions. I would recommend DR Redmond to anyone who has hip pain and is considering surgery.

John Lamouria  December 29, 2016

At the age of 31, I found myself facing some difficult obstacles and having
to make decisions that I knew would have an impact on the rest of my life. I
had been dealing with what I called "a bad hip", with constant inflammation,
decreased range of motion and pain, that over the course of 1 year rendered
me incapable of performing simple everyday tasks. I was having trouble
getting out of my car, stepping on & off curbs or climbing a flight of
stairs without assistance. I was a companion and mother, who had severe
limitations of what I could do with my family without having to guard my
hip. This was an issue that progressed rather quickly and was actively
chipping away at my sense of self-worth. I had sought medical treatment
from a provider, that offered multiple rounds of steroid injections and
therapy, with little to no improvement. I was told that I would need a hip
replacement at age 31! I went for a second opinion, who informed me and my
family that I may not need a replacement, but a corrective procedure that
he was unable to perform. While I appreciated his honesty, at this point my
frustrations were nearing a peak. I was terrified. I needed help. I didn't
know what kind, but I needed a plan. My second opinion provider advised me
to find Dr. John Redmond in Jacksonville, FL for a 3rd opinion.

Scheduling a consult with Dr. Redmond, was one of the best decisions I've
ever made in my life. Seeking multiple specialists, definitely hindered my
faith for a bit. However, Dr. Redmond pulled me out of a dark place. He
talked to me, emphasizing the facts in words that I and my family could
understand. His intellect, professionalism, and compassion paired with a
great support staff, reassured me that there was still hope of preserving
and restoring my original hip. Dr. John Redmond did just that. We shook
hands on the morning of my operation, and I knew I was in great hands. I'm
proud and beyond excited to report everything has been uphill ever since!
His work has exceeded my expectations far beyond measure. On a daily basis,
I live about 90-95% pain free. I walk and move with confidence. I can
exercise. I can perform my job without limitations. Most importantly I'm
able to actively enjoy time with my family. I truly believe my structure
and functionality has been restored! I thank God for the opportunity to work
with such an amazing craftsman. I say "work with" because that was exactly
how he made me and my family feel. We worked together. I trust Dr. John
Redmond, and I am honored to be able to share my experience with him.

Selena Lane  December 14, 2016

“In May of 2006, Dr. Shirley repaired my torn ACL from playing with the Jacksonville Dixie Blues Women's Professional Football Team. In June of 2010, Dr. Murphy repaired my torn meniscus from officiating lacrosse. In March of 2014, Dr. Acevedo detached and re-attached my Achilles Tendon to remove a bone spur on the back of my calcaneus. In November of 2014, Dr. Bates repaired my tibial plateau fracture from being hit in an NCAA football game while officiating.

Officiating is my passion. Being in a wheel chair 3 months recovering from my tibial plateau repair, there was a concern that I may not be able to even walk again. Being able to return to the avocation I love so much means everything to me and I appreciate every opportunity I get to officiate. I have returned to the basketball court and football and lacrosse fields officiating again thanks to Southeast Orthopedics' physicians.”

Anna Lee Sweden  November 6, 2016

I'm 70 years old and I have seen many doctors, Dr. Sternberg has helped me with pain more than anyone I have ever gone to. I have had more issues than I have room here to discuss. Dr. Sternberg and his staff give not only professional care but give it with a true desire to relieve your problem. Dr. Sternberg's desire to be specific with the treatment is unlike any other professional I have ever gone to. I think so highly of Dr. Sternberg that I have recommended him to my friends who have had the same experience. He is not only a true professional but he is one that truly cares.

Eddie (Ron) Grenier  December 23, 2015

Dr. Murphy,
I surfed for the first time in a 6 months today and I couldn't stop smiling the entire time. Surfing is one of my greatest passions and I'll be forever grateful that you and your staff got me back on the surfboard. Thank you a million times. Chris.

Chris Shuff  December 8, 2015

I want to make you aware of the outstanding physical therapy I received from Kara Jankowski, DPT at your facility in Riverside. I have been a patient of Kara's for the past two months. She has been my physical therapist as I recover from a total knee replacement Dr. Amundaray preformed on Oct. 7, 2015. For the first visit, I found Kara to be professional and extremely knowledgeable. She takes the time to explain what she is doing and the reason behind it so the patient understands the benefit of the exercise. I never get the feeling that I am simply another patient to be billed, but rather an individual with specific needs. Her compassion is evident each time we meet and her encouragement adds to the benefits from the treatment itself. Kara's patience and dedication to her clients are evident of all times. She greets each one by name and bids them goodbye as they leave. This may seem like an insignificant detail to you, but it speaks to the personal interest she shows all her patients. It is a rare commodity to find in the medical community today. For the past two years I have been in a constant state of pain and unable to do many of the things I love. Before my knee issue I was a ardent backpacker, climber, and mountain biker. Plus I teach Outdoor Classes through REI here in Jacksonville. Under her care, I am happy to say that my conditions are improving and I have be looking forward to hiking again. I would hope that you appreciate and acknowledge the superior service and care Kara provides her patients. She represents your company well by displaying qualities you and your management team should value and reward. Southeast Orthopedic Specialists is fortunate to have Kara on staff.

Mark Landschoot  November 18, 2015

Dr. Timothy Sternberg's and his Team are the best. They are considerate, gentle, understanding and always have a smile.
Chronic pain is so hard to deal with if you do not have "a light at the end of the tunnel". Dr. Sternberg and his Pain Management Team have given me that "light".
Sure, I am still in pain but knowing he is doing all he can to help me have quality of life is a BIG plus for me.
I would never go to anyone else.
His competence and caring are exemplary. Thank You!!

Jane Mercer Elkins  November 13, 2015

My name is Tom and I am 48 yrs. old. I have been very active in many sports throughout my life. I especially love water sports and have acquuired a few injuries along the way. In June of 2015 I sustained a shoulder and Bicep injury that were quite serious while kitesurfing. I had my doubts about any kind of speedy recovery. I had a torn long head bicep tendon, torn bicep, torn rotator cuff, and torn labrum. To make a long story short I cannot express how thankful I am that I found Dr. Deshmukh and the team at Southeast Orthopedics. They are not only highly skilled and knowledgeable in Orthopedic care, but are all some of the most caring and comitted people you will find anywhere. I cannot thank them enough for their patience and willingness to do everything possible to nurse me back to 100%. I am now back to my old self after extensive shoulder surgery and physical therapy after only 16 weeks. They really are miracle workers and I assure you they will do everything possible so that you can have the same outcome too.
Sincerly, Tom Dillon

Tom Dillon  November 3, 2015

Having faced hyper-extendable ligaments my entire life, my parents and I have spent countless hours consulting with orthopedists and physical therapists about techniques to help my ligaments become stronger. Nevertheless, when I reached adulthood, one of my main concerns was locating an orthopedist that would be able to stabilize my ligaments. Furthermore, I did extensive research for the finest orthopedist experienced in my condition. I was very blessed to find Doctor Kevin Murphy, who was highly recommended and experienced in my condition.

Doctor Murphy analyzed my lax ligaments and determined I would be a prime candidate for a ligament replacement in my knees. He felt due to my young age this surgery would give me a better quality of life. After the surgery, I underwent extensive physical therapy at Southeast Physical Therapy with Brandon as my therapist. Doctor Murphy has specific therapy requirements for this particular surgery, and Brandon had previously treated someone for MPFL surgery. Brandon gave me the confidence to work through the pain and to look towards enjoying again the activities that once hindered me.

Thank you Doctor Murphy and Brandon for helping me to gain a quality of life back.

Hannah Mandel.

Hannah Mandel  October 31, 2015

Last Febuary(2015) I had major surgery on my right foot. I will admit the recovery was a challenge. Finally, around October 1st, the pain went away. I was beginning to think I would never be pain free. Saw Dr Acevedo today, October 28, and he said I just have a little Achilles tendonitis. The whole process made me realize how I'd taken my foot for granted. Also have more empathy for people with physical challenges. Thank God Dr Acevedo has the knowledge to help people live a better quality of life.

Gail Grange  October 28, 2015
Shaun Headshot

Shaun Janse van Rensburg, DC

Chiropractic Physician

Expert Chiropractic Medicine encompasses manual manipulations of the spine and extremities to restore proper mobility of the joint. Additionally, manual manipulations focus on proper biomechanics to avoid compensation throughout the body that could lead to pain and injury.

VIEW FULL BIO

LATEST NEWS

When to See an Orthopedist About Foot & Ankle Problems

Our feet and ankles are extremely important to our body. They allow us to walk around and do other things such as dance or play sports. Because of this, it is important to listen to your body. If your feet and ankles are injured, you want to take care of them as soon as...

read more